Decisions, Decisions, Decisions

 I remember the day vividly, the day I had to decide what school I was going to choose to further my education. It was no easy choice, Stetson University in Florida had given me a scholarship to attend their school, but Xavier University seemed like the better path to go if I wanted the best education for a premed student. I knew time was running out to pick which school I would attend, but I could not choose. Do I go to a school which I familiar with my surroundings and close to the people I know and love? Or do I go to a school where I know nothing about the city I’m going to and miss my family and friends for weeks and days on end? And finally I made my decision not knowing the consequences that followed behind. I chose Xavier and the days before I left was a complete nightmare. My parents began to fight over what I could and couldn’t do, since my mom felt like I was going to make my own decisions in college; however, my dad felt otherwise. Nevertheless, the day I left was the hardest because I had to leave my parents, my brother, my friends since grade school, and my boyfriend of four years. Everyone would be miles away and there was nothing I could do about it except have a small visit here and there. I wanted to do what was best for my education, but would I be happy when I arrived. As the family car was packed and ready to go, it took all my power not to cry, but it happened anyway. When we made it to Xavier I was skeptical, but the few months I’ve been here have been good so far. My friends and I still keep in contact, my parents come from Florida to visit, and I am currently with my boyfriend. Xavier is hardest, but best decision I have ever made and I wouldn’t change it.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

